Our company is dedicated to the highest hospitality standards, as well as responsible & sustainable business practices. Our outdoor hospitality model is all about creating meaningful experiences in nature with the people you love. Every booking at Alter Experiences is new & unique. We look forward to exceeding your expectations & tailoring an outdoor hospitality experience specific to your group needs. We strive to create nature immersive, meaningful, comfortable & hassle free experiences in the outdoors.

 

 Reviews on Airbnb | Reviews on Hipcamp | Reviews on Yelp

 


 

Our Favorite Reviews

"We had the best time tree camping outside of Julian. The tents and supplies are immaculate. Our 4 and 6 year old LOVED it. Especially the hang out area with pillows. Shantel has really thought of every detail to make the camping experience feel easy and indulgent. The kitchen set up was so fantastic, my husband and I made a list of everything so we can try and replicate it the next time we go camping. We felt absolutely spoiled. The surrounding area had gorgeous hiking and the wolf center was fascinating. All in all, a super fun and super easy camping adventure!"

Heather from Washington, DC | September 2018


 

This camping site is amazing!! There’s everything you can possibly need on the site. We spent hours on the hammock/tentstile watching the stars every night. Shantel was a very kind and responsive host. We can’t wait to come back!

Steven from Los Angeles, CA | September 2018


 

Great experience! Shantel was very punctual and accommodating. Definitely a great way to camp without any of the hassle

Cindy from Costa Mesa, CA | September 2018


 

Shantel did an excellent job communicating what to expect on our glamping get away. She was very pleasant to deal with. She was very good at giving us tips on where to visit, etc. In addition, she communicated that the cell reception up in the campsite was poor so we were prepared. This quaint get away was a perfect end to our summer vacation. The campground was beautiful, lots of trees to keep things cool on a normally hot day. My girls loved the raised tents and spent hours on the hammock looking at the beautiful stars. When we arrived there were 6 changes and the "kitchen" was set up perfectly. Shantel went over the details of how to work the kitchen, shower, etc. A overall great stay!

Erika from Yorba Linda, CA | August 2018


 

Shantel and Rami do an amazing job. This glamping experience was fun and so relaxing. We had a perfectly lovely weekend and can’t wait till next time.

Emma from Julian, CA| August 2018


 

Shantel was a stellar host. The site was beautiful, spacious, and had great shade. Everything you could possibly need can be found thanks to Shantel. There are wonderful trails to walk around the site, lovely sounds of nature, and the easy feeling of knowing you have everything you need. I was booked for a 3 night stay but unfortunately had an emergency where I had to leave early. Shantel was incredibly responsive and understanding. I can't wait to book with her again soon!!

Melissa from San Diego, CA | July 2018


 

Shantel did an awesome job and the campsite was even cooler than I had expected! Everything about the site was quality material and very clean. Shantel was also very quick to respond to any questions or when we asked for recommendations on where to eat and what to do in the area. One of the coolest camping/glancing experiences I’ve ever had. We are definitely going to come back.

Chris from Highland, CA | June 2018


 

This experience was absolutely as amazing as expected. It was very nice to escape the outside world while also having the amenities of being at home. The tent was really cool, the hammock was really nice and comfortable, and everything was thought of. Shantel was very attentive to answering any questions and was also very good at recommending activities to do in the area. I would absolutely recommend this to a friend and probably do it again myself!

Vanessa


 

This site surpassed all of my highest expectations! The location is stunning, the site itself is incredibly cool, and Shantel was an accommodating and knowledgeable host. The Tentsiles are comfortable and fun, and Shantel was not kidding when she said each site comes fully stocked — we had everything we needed, and more. Clean bathrooms, great hiking, and awesome scenery. I will be recommending this spot to everyone I know!

Sharin


 

I spent 2 nights in the tree tent with my 9 year old daughter for Mothers Day weekend. It was such a unique and special experience. A really great mother daughter bonding time in nature. Loved the attention to detail in our little camp, - it was really cozy, pretty and had everything we needed to make it a perfect camping experience. Shantel was such a kind and attentive host. the hammock provided a lot of unforgettable moments for us. lying in the hammock watching the stars, rolling out of the tent in the morning and warming up in the sun, reading books. my daughter had lots of imaginative play in the hammock, and it was a forcefield and a flying saucer and all kinds of things. we did have a very cold first night when it was down to 30-40 degrees, very windy and raining, -but we bundled up in the sleeping bags with sweaters, wool socks, hats, scarves - and we survived the cold night and the hot cocoa in the morning tasted that much better. This was really one of our most unique experiences with airbnb. thank you so much!

Just got back from a 5 night glamping experience at Mt Laguna. We were in an amazing tent for the 4 of us which included a Queen and full size bed. We called this our cabin room wrapped in canvas and couldn't have been happier with this accommodation. In fact it exceeded all of our expectations. We all slept so comfortably with the sounds of the nearby birds (blue jays, woodpeckers and some birds I have never seen before. The breeze through the pines and oaks was like a lullaby that put me right to sleep! The night sky right above (above the canvas) was beautiful at night in this "Dark Area" away from all the light polution. We loved the dining table with a beautiful cover and Rami and Shantel waiting for us as we arrived, Both were phenomenal and made us feel right at home. We had a fantastic time at Alter Experiences site due to the activities, the setting, the privacy and the accommodation. We were the envy of all the campers in the area. We also made many new friends with other campers in the area.

John


 

I wanted to do something special for my boyfriend’s birthday and try something new and camping with these cool tree tents was everything we were hoping for and more. Our favorite feature was the tree-tent hammock where we spent a lot of time relaxing. We even used this cool little zip-able blanket we deemed “the hot pocket” which we used when we stargazed to keep us warm. Chantel was a great host. She was instantly warm, inviting, and excited to show us around her neat set-up. Her and her husband also came by to check on us (making sure we had what we needed and that our tent was sturdy) day 2 as they were checking more guests at a campsite nearby. They truly thought of everything you might need in the kitchen. Spices, cooking utensils, tea, coffee, and so much more. There were some nice touches like the to-go tissues and the decor (cute little rugs and pillows below our tent and tent-hammock) complete with solar-powered fairy lights that really made the set-up that much more special. When I asked for things to do nearby, she had plenty to recommend. We opted for the trail-hike nearby to Laguna Lake and did Three Sisters the next day. All in all, this was a great place to take off the pressure of having to set-up, pack, and try something new that was truly a unique experience. I will definitely be recommending friends. Thanks again, Chantel!

Chaine 


 

Really great camping experience with all the amenities needed to have a fun time. Shantel is great with communicating and making sure we were welcomed when we first arrived. We enjoyed tea and coffee provided and sat by the fire pit enjoying each other's company. Definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a unique experience and local getaway.

Linda


 

We were looking to have a peaceful and quiet weekend getwaay and that’s exactly what we got. Shantel was such a sweet host, that always made sure she had contact with us. We would not change anything regarding our experience.

Vince


 

This was an amazing trip! I was super excited to see our floating tents and even more my daughter was amazed! We were close to the showers and the bathrooms. Hiking trail really close to our site, and the small touches that Shantel set up for our family will have me coming back for another camping trip! Thank you again!

Trina


 

Shantel is the best Airbnb host I’ve ever had! Not only was she quick to respond and extremely reliable, she went out of her way to be hospitable and made sure we had everything we needed. Even provided us with events and fun little things we could do in town. The set up is legit! About 4-5 cars drove by in awe at how cool the campsite looked. We had everything we needed and more, this is a true glamping experience! Not once was I ever worried or concerned and I’m the type that needs to have things planned. 10/10 would recommend, and am definitely booking another experience with Shantel. If you get a chance, book it! (:

Judy 


 

This place exceeded our expectations. Shantel was so helpful offering info on local happenings and great recommendations. The location is very peaceful - do yourself a favour and make sure you allow enough time there to enjoy the tranquility. The treetop tents was a truly unique experience. 

Renne

 

 

"It was an amazing experience! We are avid campers and it was super nice to not have to pitch a tent, bring sleeping bags or chairs or bring anything for cooking. Just food, even water was provided for us. The place is stunning and tranquil with lots of hiking opportunities. Our host made sure we were all set and comfortable. Can’t wait to do it again!"

Karen | April 2018


 

"Our little family of four had a fantastic time! Shantel almost immediately replied to our reservations with websites to check out in advance of our visit. She met us at our campsite. Clearly loved the area and knew a lot about it with great ideas for hiking and texted us things going on in town to check out. The site was great and really beautiful. Just steps from tons of trails in the Laguna Meadows for hiking or mountain biking. The tree tents were amazing and our girls LOVED it. She had everything you needed including towels and supplies for the shower (bring your own quarters) and coffee, tea and hot cocoa. And we were plenty warm in our tent. Shantel is a great host and we loved the area - so beautiful, even took in a few miles on the Pacific Crest Trail. We hope to be back!"

Mama | April 2018


 

"Tree Tent Glamping with Shantel was extremely easy and a great spot for a short, or extended stay. The accommodations were more than plenty, including a firepit (w/ grill connected), full "kitchen" with cookware, plates, spices, and so much more. The glamping tent was well equipped for the chilly nights with blankets, towels, and sleeping bag included to comfortably fit two. The tree tents in the area are great for larger groups as well as to comfortably relax during the day (be weary of the cold at night and pack extra blankets!). As this is also a campground (Laguna Campground) there are tons of campers also present, but this also means that there is a host site that sells firewood ($6) and has quarter showers and bathroom facilities. There are TONS of hiking trails nearby as well as a great lookout area closeby. The entrance is shown in the pictures - make sure you take a look as cell phone service in the area is very poor. Shantel is great at communication though so send questions her way beforehand! Overall, I could not recommend a better spot to have the overall "camping" or "glamping" experience so close to such a beautiful national forest. With full amenities you can cook all you want and do all the outdoor activities as well."

Ted | April 2018


 

 

"Tree Tent Glamping was a first for us. It was especially nice to arrive at the site and find that the kitchen, campfire and sleeping quarters are ready for you. You don't have to make endless trips to the car for chairs, sleeping bags, and cookware. We loved it!"

Marcel | April 2018


 

"This glamping experience was more than we ever hoped for! If you’re thinking about, just do it. Trust me! I went with my cousins and sister and brother so there was four of us. When we got there Shantel was super sweet and and welcoming and showed us around. She let us know the best hikes and trails to do. They had everything set up front the kitchen to the dining area to the two tree tents (filled with our own sleeping bags, fleece bag and sleeping pads), which is set up for 2 people each tent, and lastly, a lounging area! What we all loved the most probably was the small feminine touches that you can tell Shantel put her time into which made the place more homey and very comfortable :) All you have to bring are ur food, clothes and cooler (quarters if you wanna shower) Our campsite was right next to the bathroom and showers which was very convenient. Since we weren’t allowed to do campfire on first night due to the strong winds, we were worried if it’ll be too cold but Shantel’s thick sleeping bags and fleece were so warm and thick and such nice quality that we slept outside on the lounging area the first night under the stars! We saw a few shooting stars! Shantel wa samaizng and I’d recommend this place to everyone I know. Well definitely be back again :)"

Christina | May 2018


 

"A last minute getaway turned into a wonder staycation for me and a friend who are local to San Diego. We were greeted when we arrived and given an introduction to the area by Shantel. She was pleasant and easy to talk to, eager to provide any suggestions and instructions on the site and the area. When requested, she provided more lighter fluid and was otherwise easy to contact. Thankfully, I had reception with AT&T. The tent was comfortable, but did bring a few extra blanket layers as suggested by someone else. The only suggestions I might offer is to provide a hatchet to breakdown firewood bundles for easier lighting and maybe bring your own lantern or two. The solar powered ones provided are great, but if not charged enough in the sun during the day (and the site is heavily shaded), by day two you’ll be struggling to see at night. And I would try my inflatable sleeping pad next time to see if that was easier to switch positions through the night and a little more insulation from the bottom. Otherwise a fun and minimal stress. Very well thought out and easy ‘tear down’ come time to leave."

Michelle | August 2018


 

"Shantel provided us with everything we needed! Everything was clean and beautiful. The tents were amazing but the hammock was by far our favorite part. We’d love to do it again!"

Mayra | September 2018


 

"Thoroughly enjoyed staying in a tree tentsile. Shantel and her husband could not have been more gracious and welcoming, and they had everything set up when I arrived. You basically bring food and clothes: everything else is already prepped for you. Plus the campground she chose was fantastic! Clean, very well managed, secluded and private. Exactly what I needed"

Reza | September 2018


 

 

Built with from JoomlaShine